Rock Hard, But Clean

Also this year we have thought about how we can counteract the waste load at Nova Rock festival – these are our new ideas! Please help to protect the environment and leave the Nova Rock area as clean as possible. Thank you 💚

NR19 Trash Challenge

In the spring of 2019, a simple idea created a viral social media campaign that caused a worldwide sensation: the so-called Trash Challenge. The call to the social media community was a very simple one: take a picture of an area that should be cleaned, then take a picture after you’ve cleared it of garbage and post this picture as well.
To make our visitors aware of the environment at Nova Rock, we also set up a Trash Challenge! All „before-and-after photos“ posted on Instagram with the hashtag #NoTrash_NR19 will enter into a raffle for 3×2 Nova Rock 2020 VIP Festival Passes!

Plastic Free Vegetables in the Festival Supermarket

In our festival supermarket (= Greisslerei) there will be no vegetables packed in plastic: the vegetables are delivered directly from the fields of Burgenland farmers in practical reusable crates to the festival. The green crate includes cucumbers, carrots, celery, peppers, tomatoes – all without plastic and fresh from the field. We are particularly pleased that these vegetables get a „second chance“, because even if they do not meet the food trade requirements and may have funny shapes we will sell them.  We look forward to the most natural vegetables outside the standard sizes in our supermarket at Nova Rock. Of course there are no plastic bags in the festival supermarket, only cloth bags.

Regional Wine & Social Drink @ Wine Bar Enjoying Arena

We have put together a great wine assortment of five Burgenland winegrowers. The wine does not have to be transported hundreds of unnecessary kilometers, but comes fresh and directly from our wine-growing partners to the festival. You can choose from red wine, white wine and of course the popular Uhudler. In the Genuss Arena you can get yourself a Sternderl, the social drink of the Sterntalerhof. The herbal refreshment drink mixes well with our wine as a Sternderl-mix. The proceeds from the Sternderl sale go to the Sterntalerhof.

Limited Festival Bottle with Refill Option @ Nova Rock Greisslerei

Help to reduce the plastic waste! Here’s how it works: get one of the limited edition printed festival bottles (reusable aluminum bottle) incl. refill option for soda and water at the supermarket and proactively avoid plastic waste / PET bottles. Together with Fritz Kola we start this experiment and count on your help. We hope that the concept will work out so that we can reduce plastic waste to a minimum. We ask for your understanding that the bottle can not be taken to the core area.

Every can counts!

From now on, collecting cans makes even more sense and fights your thirst! The formula is 15: 1. Together with our partners from the Ottakringer brewery and Red Bull, we collect cans at the campsite in order to dispose them professionally – because every can counts. If you collect 15 empty cans and bring them to one of the 3 collection stations (see area map), you’ll get at  freshly tapped beer * or Red Bull * at the main collecting station (open Thurs-Sun from 10-22 clock) as a thank you. #rockclean

* only while supplies last

Rock Hard, But Clean


Auch heuer haben wir uns wieder Gedanken darüber gemacht, wie wir der Müllbelastung entgegen wirken können. Bitte helft mit die Umwelt zu schonen und das Nova Rock Gelände möglichst sauber zu hinterlassen. Danke ❤️

NR19 Trash Challenge

Im Frühjahr 2019 ist aus einer einfachen Idee eine virale Social Media Kampagne entstanden, die weltweit für Aufsehen gesorgt hat: die sogenannte Trash Challenge. Der Aufruf an die Social Media Gemeinde war ein sehr simpler: macht ein Foto von einem Bereich, die gesäubert oder gereinigt werden sollte, dann macht ein Foto, nachdem ihr sie vom Müll befreit habt und postet das Bild.

Um unsere Besucherschaft für die Müllbeseitigung am Nova Rock zu sensibilisieren, rufen wir ebenso zur Trash Challenge auf! Alle Vorher-Nachher Fotos, die unter dem #NoTrash_NR19 auf Instagram gepostet werden, nehmen an einem Gewinnspiel für 3×2 Nova Rock 2020 VIP Festivalpässe teil!

Plastikfreies Gemüse im Festival-Supermarkt

Im Supermarkt gibt es dieses Jahr kein in Plastik verpacktes Gemüse: das Gemüse wird heuer direkt von den Feldern burgenländischer Bauern in praktischen Mehrwegkisten zu uns aufs Festival geliefert. Das Grüne Kisterl beinhaltet Gurken, Karotten, Sellerie, Paprika, Tomaten – alles ohne Plastik & frisch vom Feld. Besonders freut es uns, dass es sich hier um Gemüse handelt, dass eine zweite Chance bekommt, weil es den Lebensmittelhandel-Anforderungen nicht entspricht und somit wenig Chance hat seine leckeren Vitamine zu verbreiten. Die Lebensmittel sind natürlich einwandfrei, die ein oder andere Gurke mag eventuell eine lustige Form haben. Wir freuen uns auf natürlichstes Gemüse außerhalb der Normgrößen in unserem Supermarkt am Nova Rock. Natürlich gibt es im Festival-Supermarkt auch keine Plastiksackerl, sondern nur Stoffbeutel.

Wein aus der Region & Social Drink @ Weinbar in der Genuss Arena

Wir haben ein tolles Wein-Sortiment von fünf burgenländischen Weinbauern zusammengestellt. Der Wein muss deshalb keine unnötigen Kilometer zurücklegen, sondern kommt frisch und direkt von unseren Weinbau-Partnern aufs Festival. Zur Auswahl stehen Rotwein, Weißwein und natürlich auch der beliebte Uhudler. In der Genuss Arena gibt es heuer auch wieder das Sternderl, den Social Drink des Sterntalerhof. Das Kräuter-Erfrischungsgetränk mischt sich auch sehr gut mit unserem Wein als Sternderl-Mix. Der Erlös aus dem Sternderl Verkauf geht an den Sterntalerhof.

Limitierte Festival Bottle mit Getränkeabo @ Nova Rock Greisslerei

Helft mit den Plastikmüll zu reduzieren! So geht‘s: im Supermarkt eine der limitierten bedruckten Festival Bottles (wiederverwendbare Alu-Flasche) inkl. Nachfüll-Abo für Limo & Wasser holen und damit proaktiv Plastikmüll/PET Flaschen vermeiden. Gemeinsam mit Fritz Kola starten wir diesen Versuch und zählen auf den nötigen Besucherzuspruch. Wir hoffen, dass das Konzept Schule macht und wir dadurch den Plastikmüll auf ein Minimum reduzieren können. Wir bitten um Verständnis, dass die Flasche nicht ins Kerngelände mitgenommen werden können.

Jede Dose zählt!

Ab jetzt macht Dosen sammeln noch mehr Sinn und löscht euren Durst! Die Formel lautet 15:1.  Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern der Ottakringer Brauerei und Red Bull sammeln wir mit den Festivalbesuchern am Campingplatz Dosen, um sie fachgerecht zu entsorgen – denn jede Dose zählt. Sammelt 15 leere Dosen und bringt sie zu einer der 3 Sammelstationen (siehe Geländeplan). Im Gegenzug bekommt man bei der Hauptstation (geöffnet Do-So von 10-22 Uhr) ein frisch gezapftes Bier* oder Red Bull* als Dankeschön. #rockclean *nur so lange der Vorrat reicht